Chess Association of Western Australia

2013 Teams Lightning Championship

Report by Gordon Dunlop:

The 2013 Teams Lightning event was held at the Moresby Hall on Sunday 15th December. A total of twelve teams competed in five divisions. The prizes consisted of cash prizes, Xmas stockings with champagne for the overall winners. Electronic clocks held by the association will be engraved to recognize the division. Xmas stockings were given to the runners up in each division. The event was held in traditional Xmas spirit and all players had a fun time. Prizes for many of the major tournaments of the year were presented after the event together with Grand Prix awards. This was followed by.

The tournament was run as a 9 round Swiss tournament followed by a final between the top two teams in each division. As done in previous years the first three rounds were played as guillotine lightning, the next three as Fisher and the last three as Bronstein. Guillotine was used in the finals for the top divisions and Fischer for the remaining divisions. The White team had two white boards and could choose their boards. The Black team could then choose their opponents.

In the finals, teams had to play in rating order. The leading teams in a division could choose to have the White pieces on boards 1 and 3 needing two points to win the match. Alternatively they could take the Black pieces on those boards needing only 1.5 points to win the match.

There were some novelty prizes given for first win, fastest win in each time control and biggest upsets. Benjamin Hurst had the first win of the day. Donal Wild won the prize for the fastest win under the guillotine time with a time of 4:55 which means a mate in 5 seconds and I suspect the fastest time ever for this prize. Adam Kelly had the most time on the clock for the Fischer time control being 3:03 after starting with 3:02. In Bronstein time three players had remaining times of 5:03 but the prize was given to George Carolyn-Unkovich as the first to finish with that time.

The biggest upset prize went to Aayush Bhardwaj defeating Marc Vlietsra with a rating difference of over 602.

Quizzes were also run on the day. A photo recognition quiz was won by the Hardegen team. A word sleuth puzzle was also conducted for the juniors 12 years and under in which 15 chess words were hidden. This quiz was won by Donal Wild.

The DOP prizeswere given to past president Denis McMahon who travelled all the way from Tasmania to compete in the tournament. I thank my wife Christine for their work in assisting on the day but thanks also go to the many other parents and players who assisted on the day.

The list of teams with members follows at the end of this report. The finals results were:


Dirty Patzers defeated the Black Knights (3.0 - 0.0).


The Hardegen Team defeated the Perth Dragons (2.0 - 1.0).


The Kelly Gang defeated the White Rabbits (2.0 - 1.0).


The Vanilla Oreos defeated the Guilfordian Gentlemen (3.0 - 0.0).


The Seethepalli team defeated Thornlie Alliance (3.0 - 0.0).

Thank you to all the players for joining in the dayís activities. The DOPs decisions were accepted gracefully. All players had a good time so start planning your teams for 2014.

Merry Christmas,

Gordon Dunlop.

2013 Lightning Teams


The Dirty Patzers
George Carolyn-Unkovich		1930
Marc Vliestra			2109
Thomas Pinnock			2005

Black Knights
Rob Maris			1993
Derek Elkington			1973
Wolfgang Leonhardt		1867


All The Presidentís Men
David Ellis			2032
Denis McMahon			1720
Wally Lubtschenko		1666

Perth Dragons
Natalie Maris			1848
Nedeljko Tomic			1861
Alex Janceski			1825

White Rabbits
Ross List			1666
Alan Wolstencroft		1811	
Benjamin Hurst  		1568

Hardegen Team
Andrew Hardegen			1800
Kathryn Hardegen		1700
Edik Gilmetdinov		1959

Kelly Gang
Adam Kelly			1670
Chirag Saroha			1709
Alex DeHeer			1614


Guildfordian Gentlemen
Matthew Duke			1315
Aaron Liew			
Perry Yang			1394

Thornlie Alliance
Bernard Laugery 		1203
Donal Wild    
Harry Ratcliff

The Nedlands Knights
Joseph O'Brien
Christopher O'Brien  
Mahan Rafeei			1091

Seethepalli Team
Gayathri Seethepalli		1274
Joseph Thompson
Sonam Jamtsho
Naivaidya Garg			970

Vanilla Oreos
Dhruv Bhardwaj			1571
Aayush Bhardwaj			1507
Paddy Koh			1584