Chess Association of Western Australia

2018 National Chesskids Interschool Championships

WA Chess players shine at the 2018 National Chesskids Interschool Championships.

The 2018 National Chesskids Interschool Championships were held at Mannix College, Monash University, Melbourne on Monday 3rd and Tuesday 4th December. A total of 341 students participated across three divisions: Open Secondary (93 players), Middle School (102 players) and Primary (146 players).

Western Australia had a total of 37 players participating in the event, spread over 5 school teams:

Nedlands Primary School (Primary Division): Alex Pimenov, Gautham Balamurugan, Tom Freitag, Jed Hopkins, Drew Stanborough, Emily Zhang, Timothy Kaempf, Denzel Nambi, Siddharth Balamurugan, Abigail Brown, Starcya Khew, Charlotte Wee, Benjamine Zar and Bryn Stanborough.

Carmel Primary School (Primary Division): Daniel Levin, Jaime Pachter, Kovi Leib, Asher Raiter, Jacob Kerbel, Aaron Levine, Naftali Resnick, Raphael Resnick and Ariella Schwarz.

Perth Modern School (Middle School Division): Ben Hurst, Charles Underwood, Pranav Senthilkumar, Jamie Laubbacher and Christopher Manasseh.

Rossmoyne Senior High School (Middle School Division): Marco Gunawan, Tommy Hu, Cyrus Amaria, Desmond Soo and Abilaash Kugathasan.

Perth Modern School (Open Secondary Division): Andrey Lugovskoy, Maia Harlap, Kaustav Bhowmick and Reuben Cheuk.

The Open Secondary Division, consisting of 19 teams, was won by Melbourne High School (VIC) with a team score of 22.5. Second place went to Mt Roskill Grammar (NZ) on 21, edging out third placed Nossal High School (VIC) by half a point.

Perth Modern School, came in sixth place, mainly due to the exceptional performance of Andrey Lugovskoy who tied for 4th place in the overall standings, scoring 5.5/7.

The Middle School Division, consisting of 21 teams, was convincingly won by Perth Modern School with a team score of 22. There was a tie for second place between Mazenod College (VIC) and St Monica’s College (VIC), both scoring 19.5. Rosmoyne Senior High School came in =5th place with a score of 18.

The individual performances of the WA players were outstanding, lead by Ben Hurst (Perth Mod) who come outright 3rd scoring 6/7. Charles Underwood (Perth Mod), Pranav Senthilkumar (Perth Mod) and Marco Gunawan (Rossmoyne) all tied for 4th place with scores of 5.5/7. The Primary School Division, consisting of 22 teams, was won by Glendal Primary School (VIC) with a team score of 22.5, edging out second placed Doncaster Gardens Primary School (VIC) by only half a point. Wooranna Park Primary School (VIC) and Balwyn North Primary School (VIC) tied for third, both with a team score of 20.5.

Nedlands Primary School came in =6th place, mostly due to a fantastic performance by Alex Pimenov who tied for 2nd place overall on a score of 6/7. Carmel Primary School, who are new to the chess scene, came 16th place.

Report kindly provided by Jay Lakner.

For full results visit: