Chess Association of Western Australia

2018 Mount Lawley Primary School Open Tournament

On Sunday 14 October, Mount Lawley Primary School Chess Club hosted a seven-round open junior chess tournament at the school. Mount Lawley PS are the current Western Australian Primary Schools chess champions and this tournament was to raise funds to send the school team to the National Schools Chess Finals to be held in Adelaide on 1 and 2 December.

The event was very well attended with 73 players from all over Perth, including some of the State’s strongest juniors. The Under 18 overall winner was Harry Geronimo who received a $100 cash prize. Winner of the under 14’s was Alex Pimenov who received a $50 prize. In the under 10 division, there was a three-way tie for first between Aarnav Gupta, Iker Hernandez and Daniel Levin, each receiving $20 cash prizes. Some tense playoff matches were played for the trophies after which Aarnav was crowned the winner with Iker gaining second place and Daniel third.

A big thank you should go to Joli Mendez, Jenny Pendragon and Herma Richards for manning the cake stall. Thanks also to Kalaimakal Arivuchchelvan; Thao Nguyen; Olivia Boulud; Tish Wintle; Kimberley Farrell; Kathy Richards and countless others for their generous donation of time and food. Thanks also to Cavelle Monck, Grace Adam and Sandra Martin for their unswerving support and for making the school available. To Tiffany Eltwood for publishing the event on Facebook and to Hugo Hernandez (and others) for publishing and distributing the fliers. Also a big thank you should to go to the school chess club coordinators Michael Richards and Jim Richards for the countless hours of time and effort they put in behind the scenes to make this event a success.

Report kindly provided by Jay Lakner.

Final placings

Under 18: 
1st Harry Geronimo
2nd Aidan Smith
3rd Chas Underwood

Under 14:
1st Alex Pimenov
2nd Jamie Laubbacher
3rd Minh Nguyen

Under 10:
1st Aarnav Gupta
2nd Iker Hernandez
3rd Daniel Levin

Merit Awards:
Ethan Richards, Eamon Harris, Ishaan Barbare, 
Brett Thomson, Callum Wintle & Jamie Richards.

Full results can be found at:

Please click on the drop box link below for a nice selection of photos (taken by Paul Harris) from the 2018 Mount Lawley Primary School Open: