WA Grand Prix (Paul Meyer Awards)

Grand Prix awards are determined by accumulating points in each GP tournament. Points are awarded as follows: 1st = 12, 2nd = 10, 3rd = 8, 4th = 7, 5th = 6, 6th = 5, 7th = 4, 8th = 3 and participation = 2 (if no other points). All players are included in the Premier, all players Under 1850 for the Major & all players Under 1550 for the Minor. Ratings are taken from the final rating list of previous year. These ratings continue for whole year despite official periodic changes. The awards, known as the PAUL MEYER AWARDS, commemorate the life and work for Chess of the late Paul Meyer. The awards seek to encourage regular participation and therefore will not necessarily be won by the best players in each category but by those who not only perform well but also, of equal importance, are prepared to front up regularly.

2018 WA Grand Prix

Report by David Ellis:

2018 WA GP Open winner in the Paul Meyer Awards for the second year running was Andrew Hardegen with his wife WFM Kathryn Hardegen runner-up and junior Brent Geronimo third.

The Major was won by Brent Geronimo with last year's Minor winner David Barry second and Albany regular Garry Donaldson third.

The Minor was won by Gary Donalson who just pipped David Barry followed a long way back by two of the most promising younger juniors, Oscar Gao and Harry Geronimo.

Junior winner was Brent Geronimo and Country winner Gary Donaldson.

There was no South West Open this year but it is planned to visit the country in 2019.

 Position		    Events	1st       GP Pts

 1	Andrew Hardegen       5         1         35.3
 2	Kathryn Hardegen      4         -         24.5
 3	Brent Geronimo        5         -         21.2
 4	Ihsan Ferozkohi       2         1         21
 5	David Ellis           4         -         18

 MAJOR (Under 1850 *)
 1	Brent Geronimo        5         2         47.8	
 2	David Barry           4         -         25.5
 3	Gary Donaldson        5         1         25
 4	Ben Dagza             2         1         19.5
 5	Ian McAteer           3         -         18.5

 MINOR (Under 1550 *)
 1	Gary Donaldson        5         1         40		
 2	David Barry           4         2         38.8
 3	Oscar Gao             3         -         22.1
 4	Harry Geronimo        5         -         19

 *  Ratings as of December 2017	

Previous Grand Prix Winners

1996 Danny Dwyer Michael Wilkins Petar Rados
1997 David Ellis Tristan Boyd Leon Taylor
1998 Timo Farber Leon Taylor Natalie Taylor
1999 Michael Wilkins Leon Taylor Andrew Hardegen
2000 David Ellis Leon Taylor Zhengbo Wang
2001 Jay Lakner Andrew Hardegen Zhengbo Wang
2002 Jay Lakner John Fedec Daniel Van Heerden
2003 Tim Hare Nedeljko Tomic Dennis Holland
2004 Tristan Boyd Tom Donaldson Yita Choong & Alex DeHeer
2005 Haydn Barber Tom Donaldson Mick Pavlovic
2006 David Ellis Gordon Dunlop Gary Donaldson
2007 Michael Wilkins Robert Galvin Ryan Sam
2008 Stephanus Kurniawan Nedeljko Tomic Chris Cuellar Tom Donaldson
2009 Dennis Holland Dennis Holland Gary Donaldson Yita Choong
2010 Stephanus Kurniawan Nedeljko Tomic Gary Donaldson George Carolin-Unkovich
2011 Tom Donaldson & Dave Dempster Nedeljko Tomic Gary Donaldson George Carolin-Unkovich
2012 Marc Vlietstra Gordon Dunlop Gary Donaldson George Carolin-Unkovich
2013 David Ellis George Carolin-Unkovich Gary Donaldson George Carolin-Unkovich
2014 Ihsan Ferozkohi Nedeljko Tomic Ignatius Yap Ignatius Yap
2015 Yita Choong Gordon Dunlop Paul Moseley Ignatius Yap
2016 Ihsan Ferozkohi Andrey Lugovsky Gary Donaldson Patrick Gong Gary Donaldson
2017 Andrew Hardegen Sri Krishnan Dharmapuri David Barry Patrick Gong Gary Donaldson
2018 Andrew Hardegen Brent Geronimo Gary Donaldson Brent Geronimo Gary Donaldson